Photo Book Design

I decided to return to my original idea where the ‘evidence’ and images are presented together overlapping one another.
I thought this would be more appropriate of my idea because I can have a certain document with a certain image creating a strong bond to one another.
My evidence is acting as a caption, they accompany my images to give context.

The book took quite a while to make, it has a few faults here and there but I think it presents my images and concept well.

book1

The idea is to flip over the evidence to find the image then keep flipping one page over from each side to view the work with the relevant document. This design idea came from a book called “Becoming Simone” which can be viewed here 
This perhaps isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing way to present the work as the documents aren’t very visually interesting but I think the design works well for my idea.
If I were to exhibit the images I would have 1 image and 1 document in the same frame.
I only had time to complete one book for the Allesley Castle, but I’m hoping to do the same to the other groups of images for the Hauntings and The Park.

Leave a comment